The Runtime and Bin Index

How long do robot vacuums actually run, and how often do you empty them? The models we cover state 180 to 150 minutes of runtime per charge — always measured in the quietest suction mode, with real figures dropping sharply at higher power. How often you empty one depends almost entirely on the dock, not the robot: without a self-empty dock, onboard bins of 270–Not stated need emptying every one to three runs; with one, the dock bag stretches that to weeks — 7 weeks (Roborock Qrevo CurvX), 60 days (Roomba j9+), up to 100 days (Dreame L40 Ultra Gen 2), per each manufacturer's own rating. One machine here, the Roomba j9+, publishes no runtime at all: it recharges mid-job and resumes, which is how every modern robot really finishes a large home anyway. The table below puts the manufacturer-stated runtime, dustbin capacity, dock and mop capability, and rated suction for all five covered models in one place, with anything a manufacturer doesn't publish marked Not stated rather than guessed.

The index

Model Mfr-stated runtime Onboard dustbin Self-empty dock Mop Rated suction Coverage class (computed)
Roborock Qrevo CurvX 150 min (quiet mode) Not stated Yes — plus hot mop wash/dry Yes (dual spinning mops) 22,000 Pa Large-home class (~2,700 sq ft est.)
Dreame L40 Ultra Gen 2 231 min 300 ml Yes — plus hot mop wash/dry Yes (sonic, mop-extend) 25,000 Pa Whole-home class (3,000+ sq ft est.)
Ecovacs Deebot X5 Pro Omni 224 min Not stated Yes — plus hot mop wash/dry Yes (TruEdge) 12,800 Pa Whole-home class (3,000+ sq ft est.)
iRobot Roomba j9+ Not stated (recharge-and-resume) Not stated Yes — empty only (60-day bag) No (vacuum only) ~2,200 Pa (proprietary figure) Not classified — no published runtime
Roborock Q7 M5+ 150 min (quiet mode) Not stated Yes — empty only Basic pad (no wash/dry) 10,000 Pa Whole-home class (3,000+ sq ft est.)

Suction figures are each manufacturer's own rated Pa number and are not comparable across brands. The Roomba j9+ figure is iRobot's proprietary measure, included only because it already appears in our coverage.

Coverage class: how we compute it

The coverage class is our editorial estimate, computed from the manufacturer's stated runtime — it is not a manufacturer spec. Method: Roborock's own Q7 M5+ retail listing pairs its 240-minute runtime with 3,767 sq ft of cleaning on one charge, which works out to roughly 15.7 sq ft per minute in quiet mode. We round that down to a conservative ~15 sq ft per minute single-pass basis and apply it uniformly: Whole-home class = 200+ min stated runtime (~3,000+ sq ft per charge), Large-home class = 120–199 min (~1,800–3,000 sq ft), Apartment class = under 120 min. Real coverage will be lower at higher suction settings, on carpet, or while mopping; a model with no published runtime is left unclassified rather than estimated.

What the table actually tells you

Two things stand out. First, runtime is a solved problem at every tier — even the budget Q7 M5+ states 150 minutes, the most in the group, so paying more buys dock automation and navigation, not endurance. Second, bin size and dock capability trade off: the Q7 M5+ carries the biggest onboard bin (Not stated) because its dock only empties, while the flagship docks wash and dry mops too, letting the robots get away with small 270–300 ml bins. If you skip the self-empty dock entirely, expect to empty a bin this size every one to three runs — more on that in are self-empty docks worth it? and our maintenance schedule.

Sources

All figures re-verified against manufacturer pages on August 12, 2026. Anything a manufacturer does not publish is marked "Not stated" — no cell in this table is estimated.

Cite this data — License: CC BY 4.0, free to use with attribution. https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/

CleanSweepPicks Editorial Team. (2026). The Runtime and Bin Index (Version 1.0) [Data set]. CleanSweepPicks. https://cleansweeppicks.com/runtime-bin-index/

Frequently Asked Questions

Manufacturer-stated runtimes for the models we cover range from 180 to 150 minutes per charge — but always in the quietest suction mode. Higher suction modes can cut that to roughly a third, and mopping draws extra power. iRobot doesn't publish a runtime for the Roomba j9+ at all; like most modern robots it simply recharges mid-job and resumes, so runtime rarely determines whether the whole home gets cleaned — it determines how many charging breaks that takes.

Without a self-empty dock, onboard bins in this group run from Not stated to Not stated, which in practice means emptying every one to three runs — more often with shedding pets. With a self-empty dock, the robot empties itself into a dock bag and the interval becomes weeks: Roborock rates the Qrevo CurvX's dock at up to 7 weeks, iRobot rates the Roomba j9+'s Clean Base at up to 60 days, and Dreame quotes up to 100 days for the L40 Ultra Gen 2's dock bag.

Much less. With a dock, the onboard bin only needs to hold one cleaning run's debris before the dock sucks it out, so a Not stated bin behind a 7-week dock bag is a non-issue. The onboard bin size mainly matters on dock-less robots, or if you plan to run the robot away from its dock. Note the pattern in our table: the budget Q7 M5+ has the biggest bin (Not stated) precisely because its dock does less.

No. Manufacturers state runtime in the lowest-power (quiet) mode. Roborock, for example, rates the Qrevo CurvX at 150 minutes in quiet mode, while max-suction use is widely reported to cut runtime to around an hour. Treat stated runtime as a best case for the gentlest cleaning mode, not what you'll get on carpet at full power.

Last updated: August 12, 2026.